Thursday, June 23, 2016

The Little French Guesthouse - #BookBeginnings on Friday and The #Friday56

    I just finished reading The Little French Guesthouse, and now I'm tempted to buy a ticket to France. How I'd love to spend a month in the French countryside and stay in a cozy guesthouse like the one described in Helen Pollard's well-written romance. My passport is ready! 
    Not only is this a romance, it's also a story about taking chances. The plot takes an unusual turn as Emmy becomes more than a pampered guest and ends up helping run the resort. Will the challenges thrust upon her cause her to reexamine her life?
    I enjoyed getting to know Pollard's characters and being immersed in the day-to-day operations of running a country retreat. I'm looking forward to reading more stories by this talented author, including this book's sequel, Return to the Little French Guesthouse.  

Genre: Contemporary Romance
Book Length: 344 Pages
Amazon Link: The Little French Guesthouse
Author Website: Helen Pollard Writes

Book Beginning:
     I wish I could tell you it happened like it does in the movies. You know the kind of thing. The heroine standing proud, oozing restrained fury. The audience's satisfaction as she delivers a reverberating slap across her lover's face. Her dramatic but dignified exit from the screen.
     Believe me, there was nothing dignified about it. All I did was stand there shaking, rage and adrenaline coursing through my body like rabid greyhounds, my mouth flapping open and shut as I tried to find the words. Any words.

Friday 56 (from 56% on my Kindle):
They weren't just fond of each other, or used to each other, or putting up with each other, or taking each other for granted. After thirty-five years, they were still in love.

Synopsis from Goodreads:
     Sun, croissants and fine wine. Nothing can spoil the perfect holiday. Or can it? 
     When Emmy Jamieson arrives at La Cour des Roses, a beautiful guesthouse in the French countryside, she can’t wait to spend two weeks relaxing with boyfriend Nathan. Their relationship needs a little TLC and Emmy is certain this holiday will do the trick. But they’ve barely unpacked before he scarpers with Gloria, the guesthouse owner’s cougar wife. 
     Rupert, the ailing guesthouse owner, is shell-shocked. Feeling somewhat responsible, and rather generous after a bottle (or so) of wine, heartbroken Emmy offers to help. Changing sheets in the gîtes will help keep her mind off her misery. 
     Thrust into the heart of the local community, Emmy suddenly finds herself surrounded by new friends. And with sizzling hot gardener Ryan and the infuriating (if gorgeous) accountant Alain providing welcome distractions, Nathan is fast becoming a distant memory. 
     Fresh coffee and croissants for breakfast, feeding the hens in the warm evening light; Emmy starts to feel quite at home. But it would be madness to walk away from her friends, family, and everything she’s ever worked for, to take a chance on a place she fell for on holiday – wouldn’t it? 
     Fans of Jenny Colgan, Lucy Diamond and Nick Alexander will want to join Emmy for a glass of wine as the sun sets on the terrace at La Cour des Roses.


                

Anyone can participate in Book Beginnings on Friday and The Friday 56.
Click HERE to connect to other Book Beginnings posts (sponsored by Rose City Reads) 
Click HERE to join other Friday 56 bloggers (sponsored by Freda's Voice)


Twitter: @SandyNachlinger
Facebook: sandy.nachlinger

19 comments:

Breana M. said...

This book sounds so good! Thanks for sharing about it. :-)

Sya said...

I loved this too!! Can't wait for the second book in August :D

Sya @ Bookish Sya

Lisa Ks Book Reviews said...

A beautiful cover It sounds like a delightful read. I'd love for you and your readers to check out mine... http://tinyurl.com/LisaKsBookReviewsTGC

Bev Bouwer said...

I love all things France. Sounds great. Thanks for sharing and visiting.

Catherine @ Book Club Librarian said...

This sounds like a delightful read and perfect arm chair traveling.

Laurel-Rain Snow said...

What a lovely setting for romance! I love guesthouses, too; they seem to add to romance wherever you find them. Thanks for sharing, and enjoy! If you do buy a ticket, be sure to take lots of photos to share. lol

Thanks for visiting my blog, and have a great weekend.

Kathy Martin said...

This does sound like an excellent romance. I wonder what decision she makes and who she ends up with. My book this week is Seconds to Live by Melinda Leigh - a romantic suspense title. Happy reading!

Katherine P said...

I love the sound of this! That beginning is so relatable. I can just imagine the scene. The narrator sounds like someone I would like.

Laura Thomas said...

I know how she feels. Hindsight.....LOL Such a beguiling cover. This needs to go on my summer reading list.

My Friday 56 from Ink and Bone

karen said...

I absolutely adored this book! Glad you enjoyed it, too!

LuAnn Braley said...

Got room for one more in your suitcase, Sandra? :O)

Alicia AKernelofNonsense said...

What a sweet 56 and I know what you mean, sometimes books make you want to travel. Happy weekend!

Maria said...

I love the cover for this book - it's just perfect - I also like the sound of the story and I too have often wanted to take off for France after reading a book about life in the French countryside.....lol...oh well...as they say life is greener...thanks for visiting my Friday meme earlier

Yvonne said...

This sounds excellent. Great choice.

Anne Bennett said...

What a fun sounding book. I am glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for dropping by my blog.

LadyD Piano said...

Great post! Love the snippet and cover art! My daughter has been to France several times and her pictures are breath-taking. I hope you're able to take a journey there one day!

fredamans said...

LOVE that 56! I hope Vinny and I feel the same after 35 years.... only 20 more to go to find out! :-) Happy weekend!

gautami tripathy said...

Like the sound of it!

I am doing Friday 56 after a very long time! Do visit me by clicking on my name!

Lauren Stoolfire said...

I would pick this up just for the cover! Thanks for visiting my blog earlier!