Thursday, May 11, 2017

The Secret Wife - #BookBeginnings on Friday and The #Friday56

Love this book! Two separate plots - one beginning in 1914, one in 2016. They come together to create an enchanting book. I learned more about Russian history from this story than I expected and in an entertaining way. The author did a great job of tying everything together. It is definitely worth reading.

Book Beginning:
Lake Akanabee, New York State,
19th July 2016
     It was twenty-nine hours since Kitty Fisher had left her husband and in that time she had travelled 3,713 miles. The in-flight magazine had said there were 3,461 miles between London and New York, and the hire car's Sat Nav told her she had driven 252 miles since leaving the airport. A whole ocean and half a state lay between her and Tom. She should have been upset but instead she felt numb.

Friday 56 (from 56% on my Kindle):
She grasped the letter and hugged it tightly to her chest as she wept like a child, with complete abandon. There was a painful spot deep inside and she hoped the crying jag might shift it but when she clambered up to the cabin and pulled herself into bed fully clothed, it was still there.

Genre: Historical Fiction / Mystery
Book Length: 417 Pages
Amazon Link: The Secret Wife
Author Website: Gill Paul

Synopsis (from Amazon):


A Russian grand duchess and an English journalist. Linked by one of the world’s greatest mysteries . . .
Love. Guilt. Heartbreak.
1914
Russia is on the brink of collapse, and the Romanov family faces a terrifyingly uncertain future. Grand Duchess Tatiana has fallen in love with cavalry officer Dmitri, but events take a catastrophic turn, placing their romance – and their lives – in danger . . .
2016
Kitty Fisher escapes to her great-grandfather’s remote cabin in America, after a devastating revelation makes her flee London. There, on the shores of Lake Akanabee, she discovers the spectacular jewelled pendant that will lead her to a long-buried family secret . . .
Haunting, moving and beautifully written, The Secret Wife effortlessly crosses centuries, as past merges with present in an unforgettable story of love, loss and resilience.
Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Dinah Jefferies.


               



Anyone can participate in Book Beginnings on Friday and The Friday 56.
Click HERE to connect to other Book Beginnings posts (sponsored by Rose City Reads) 
Click HERE to join other Friday 56 bloggers (sponsored by Freda's Voice)


Twitter: @SandyNachlinger
Facebook: sandy.nachlinger

33 comments:

sherry fundin said...

Pretty cover. Like the old timey feel.
sherry @ fundinmental Friday Memes

Kathy Martin said...

Sounds intriguing. I'll have to add this one to my wishlist. This week I am reading The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich. Happy reading!

Laurel-Rain Snow said...

I find that dual line stories are my favorite way to read historical fiction...the past and the present linked by something mysterious. I am also very fond of stories that include Russian history, especially involving the Romanovs.

Thanks for sharing. Here's mine: “INTO THE WATER”

Sandra Nachlinger said...

The cover reminds me of The Great Gatsby! I like that view.

Sandra Nachlinger said...

Thanks for stopping by, Kathy. I think you'd enjoy this story.

Sandra Nachlinger said...

I enjoy dual story lines, too, and enjoy the way they merge eventually. If you enjoy stories about Russian history, you'll definitely like this book.

Roberta said...

Sounds fascinating. (Much better than the one I'm reading for a challenge this week.) Wouldn't have guessed from the title that it contained Russian history.

Sandra Nachlinger said...

I know! I guess the cover artist was focused on the more contemporary setting of part of the book (a cabin on a lake). I was fascinated by the portion of the story that starts almost 100 years ago.

duskrider3740 said...

This sounds interesting! I hope you enjoy it!

Margaret @ BooksPlease said...

I like dual time lines. And I think you're right about learning history from fiction - provided it doesn't get too far away from the facts.

Sandra Nachlinger said...

Absolutely! I think this author must have done a lot of research because some of the historical events she mentioned were familiar to me.

Sandra Nachlinger said...

Thanks for stopping by.

Breana M. said...

Enjoy your current read! :-)

Katherine P said...

Oh this is a book for me! Love the dual timeline and can never resist a good family secret - or anything connecting to Imperial Russia for that matter. Thanks for sharing!

Yvonne@fiction-books said...

Hi Sandra,

It's funny, but I almost entered the Goodreads Giveaway for this book the other day, but changed my mind at the last minute. Now you have me wanting to add it to my 'Want To Read' list all over again!

Hubbie generally only reads non-fiction and will often berate me for preferring fiction, as he considers that non-ficton helps to educate as he reads. I often point out to him that I learn more about a whole variety of subjects and places from a fiction story, than he might think and this book sounds a definite point in fact!

I haven't read anything by Dinah Jefferies yet, however I am a fan of Kate Morton's writing and storytelling techniques, even more proof that 'The Secret Wife' belongs on my shelf!

Thanks for sharing and enjoy your weekend :)

Yvonne

The Candid Cover: YA Book Blogger said...

Russian history is so interesting! I also really love books that teach me something new as I am reading the story. I will definitely have to check this one out. Thanks for sharing it! :)

Sandra Nachlinger said...

I definitely agree with you! Somehow I learn more in the context of a story than I ever retain from reading straight history. If you read The Secret Wife, I hope you enjoy the story as much as I did.

Sandra Nachlinger said...

We always hear about the possibility of Anastasia surviving; however, this author adds a different twist. That's all I'll say. No spoilers.

Sandra Nachlinger said...

You're welcome. I hope you enjoy the book.

Sandra Nachlinger said...

Thanks. You, too.

Laura Thomas said...

I was talking to someone recently about how much history I've learned from fictional books. How you can learn factual nuggets while also enjoying a well spun story. I really like the cover for this book too. Kind of invites you to ask questions. Where is she going? Who is she?

My Friday 56 from Silver Threads

Sandra Nachlinger said...

I like covers that lead me into a book, and I think this one does.

Nadene said...

I hope you are enjoying this one. Thanks for sharing. Here is my post
http://totallyaddictedtoreading.blogspot.com/2017/05/friday-memes-book-beginnings-and-friday.html

Anne Bennett said...

Oh, this book sounds really good. I like historical fiction. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.
My Friday Quotes

Alicia AKernelofNonsense said...

Hmm, I wonder what this devastating revelation is and if it has anything to do with that letter. Hope you enjoy your weekend!

Sandra Nachlinger said...

I enjoyed it a lot. I'm going to be looking for other books by this author.

Sandra Nachlinger said...

I seem to be reading more historical fiction lately, for some reason. This was a good story.

Mareli Thalwitzer said...

Hi ho - hi ho it's of to TBR we go! Need to read this book....!

Lisa Ks Book Reviews said...

Sounds like someone was a bad husband . . . well, if the title, and the main character running have anything to do with it. ;-) Thanks for visiting my blog. I'd love for your readers to do so as well . . . http://tinyurl.com/LisaKsBookReviewsFWR

fredamans said...

Sounds like a fantastic read! Happy weekend!

Sassy Brit said...

I really like the sound of this! Hope you're enjoying your weekend! Thanks for visiting my blog.

Sassy :)

Kathryn said...

I like dual timelines too. The one that stands out I read or actually listened to last year, The Girl Who Came Home by Hazel Gaynor. It takes place around the time of the titanic and in the 1980s.

Lauren Stoolfire said...

I definitely want to know more about the Russian historical aspect. :)

Lauren @ Always Me